The Good Life

This year on a whimsical whim I decided to grow some veggies.  Well actually Ill start at the beginning.  A while ago I was watching a documentary about the plight of the bees with boychild,  and at the end one of the ways they said you could help was to grow stuff.  Yeah… I know its kinda obvious,  but anyway I was inspired to plant things. Lots of things that have been mostly disappointing and flooded to death.

I have managed to take a few pics of flowers and shizzle (thats a technical gardening term) which Ill post at the end of the blog (oh and I dont mean actual poop I mean in the shizzle/stuff sense). Anywhoos the reason Im inspired to blog about gardening,  which I usually wouldnt be cos its pretty boring for everyone else,  is cos this year I carefully nurtured these…

 

Theyre still relative babies there but theyre potatoes and onions. 

Ya know what my advice would be to anyone that wants to spend time and effort nurturing home grown veg? Dont bother your arse unless you have the first clue what your doing.  My onions are the size of pickling ones and there arent even enough to fill a jar and the pototoes cost a whoole lot more to grow than I got (and also tasted exactly like shop bought ones). I dunno what I was expecting this wonderful veg to taste of,  I just know I wanted it to be more than average.  Maybe like a rainbow would taste with a whiff of dewy morning. So lesson learnt. Next year Im sticking to flowers.

Few more phozzies of flowers….

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And the reason Im showing you a picture of my blue bin is cos the poppy in front of it is a a direct decendent from seeds stolen from Monets garden. But lets keep schtum about that shall we? ;O)

5 Responses to “The Good Life”

  1. Yeah growing stuff can be expensive! 😦

    My gran had the right idea: 1/4 of an acre of well manured farm land in which just about anything would grow and well drained so flooding never happened! 🙂

    Thanks for the visit and comment – I’m a BIG Garfield fan! 🙂

    I even used to draw the cartoons for my friends kids who loved the personalised Garfields I did for them! 🙂

    Lasagne is about the highest in calories I eat, but I really enjoy it! 😛

    Love and squishy hugs!

    Prenin.

  2. I was half expecting a small grape vine of sorts! 😛
    It’s a very good attempt… well done on your mini agricultural experiment, maybe next year we’ll all have a bit of sun??
    Prenin’s right about the potatoes, they really need lots of horse plop and a bit more room to come up a cropper (Not that I’d know, but my dad’s got an allotment.. and lots of shite.. not of the animal variety tho!)
    PS doesn’t your neighborhood look all Wisteria lane-like and quiet? Lovely! x x x
    oh! PPS still no explanation of why you left us all 😦 what happened?
    I’m intrigued.

  3. Androgoth Says:

    Sooooo not just wicked
    but with green fingers too 🙂
    Hey I hope that you have
    been eating all the produce
    and enjoying the wickedness,
    hmm I wonder what you will
    be growing next? 🙂 lol

    Have a very nice rest of evening
    and a wickedly fine weekend too 🙂

    Androgoth XXx

  4. Androgoth Says:

    AWOL Again is it? 😦 Hmm… Come on Daffy get back on the
    horse it’s Tiffin time again, I mean it’s Posting time again 🙂 lol

    Androgoth XXx

  5. Just checking in to
    see if you are back yet….

    NO… NOT YET 😦

    Okay well have a very nice evening with lots
    of wickedness, oh yes and be good too if you
    like of course? 😉

    Androgoth XXx

Leave a Reply

