Has it really been a year?

Well in fairness to myself and not as an excuse at all I didn’t ever say which Christmas I’d be back after.

I think it might find me a little while to find my way around this thing again, because WordPress seems to have changed a fair bit since I last used it and I suspect my formatting will be suspect. (see what I did there).

I’ve spent quite a bit of time over the last year with a friend of mine who was diagnosed with breast cancer. She has no family and so I’ve been ‘it’ pretty much during the day to keep her company and run her to hospital and things.  There have been some fairly grim times but she’s out the other end now, treatments all finished and in remission and it’s looking like she can head back to work in a month or so.  We’ve had a surprising number of laughs along the way, and obviously this being one of my friends quite a few nights on the wine. The other morning after a night in on the booze we went for breakfast (I highly recommend the Toby all you can eat breakfasts, I’m salivating at the very thought, although they’re not too great for the waist line if you over indulge.  I can polish off a plate of sausages in the wink of an eye but anyway I’m digressing).

So after breakfast we decided to have a bit bumble around the shops and then go for coffee.  We’d had a mooch round a particular shop and were stood at the check out for a while in this enormous queue, when the woman serving said that they were opening another check out next to her.  So we dutifully started to head towards it, at which point I looked down at my hands which were empty and said ‘I’m not actually buying anything’ and she went ‘neither am I’ so we scuttled out.  We vowed never to speak of it again but I think typing it doesn’t count.  My mam was saying the other day she was worried about my dad because he tried to get money out the cash point with his library card.  After I told her about that i don’t think she was so bothered.

I did have another moment like that not so long ago.  I’d been into Durham City for a Chinese with a friend of mine. I had parked in one of the multi story car parks, and it’s the type that you get a ticket at the barrier on the way in, pay at a machine on foot, and then put your ticket in the barrier on the way out. Anyway we took the stairs to the  ground level cos thats what I was parked on and the machine to pay wasn’t working, so rather than taking the stairs we hopped in the lift and went up to the next floor.  When the doors opened would you believe it that machine wasn’t working either so back in the lift we went and up to the next floor. Doors opened and yet again that machine was out of order.  It was at this point I noticed my car parked practically in front of me.  Turned out the lift hadn’t been moving and we’d got in and out of the same floor over and over.  Felt like a right pair of numpties!

Anyway I think I’ve rambled enough for one blog, and it wouldn’t be me if I didn’t finish with a video and a silly picture so for your delectation, a hamster in a jumper…

hamster in jumper

And finally went to see these at the beginning of the year with both my kids. Now they’re so grown up I didn’t have to worry about them getting trampled or anything and we were very close to the front. It was totally awesome cos this song was pretty much my fave of last year.  Sadly couldn’t find a decent video of the gig we were at so I’ve stolen one from elsewhere.

3 Responses to “Has it really been a year?”

  1. Never mind sweetheart – welcome to senior moments 4 U!!! 🙂

    Glad to know you’re still kicking ass and taking names!!! 🙂

    You are my kind of person Lou!!! 🙂

    Love and huge hugs you hero you!!! 🙂

    Prenin.

Leave a Reply

